//
you're reading...
Chef, OpenStack

Knife Openstack Config

Just a quick note on something I ran into.

On my new CI server I was trying to get knife-openstack working.

I followed the docs but ran into a issue right away.

I setup my knife.rb with the following:

knife[:openstack_auth_url] = "http://cloud.mycompany.com:5000/v2.0/tokens"
knife[:openstack_username] = "Your OpenStack Dashboard username"
knife[:openstack_password] = "Your OpenStack Dashboard password"
knife[:openstack_tenant] = "Your OpenStack tenant name"

However when I tried to test it, I kept getting this error:

ERROR: You did not provided a valid 'Openstack Username' value.
ERROR: You did not provided a valid 'Openstack Password' value.
ERROR: You did not provided a valid 'Openstack Auth Url' value.

I google’d, I checked the repo issues, I tried giving it command line options, everything kept giving me that error.

Finally I noticed something in my knife.rb that gave me a idea.

I had a line to set my editor to vi:

knife( :editor => 'vi' )

This was causing the issue. So I changed my config to be:

knife(
  :openstack_username => "Your OpenStack Dashboard username",
  :openstack_password => "Your OpenStack Dashboard password",
  :openstack_auth_url => "http://cloud.mycompany.com:5000/v2.0/tokens",
  :openstack_tenant => "Your OpenStack tenant name",
  :editor => 'vi'
)

Woot, That worked!!!

I could have also changed the editor line to be:

knife[:editor] = 'vi'

But I kinda like the above way better.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

